. . .


{Orissa Fire Service  Home Department (Civil Defence)}

History | Objective | Slogan










          During the  2nd   World war in 1944, four  Fire stations were established in Orissa at Cuttack, Puri, Balasore and  Berhampur. Now there are 114 Fire stations in Orissa. Keonjhar Fire  Station  started on  26.06.1972 . In  addition  to   Keonjhar  there  are  four more  Fire Stations in the district  at Ghasipura, Anandapur, Hatadihi and Champua.











          The main object of fire service is actually to save life & property from fires. However, besides this the Fire Service is often called to rescue lives from Road Accidents, drowning cases from wells, rivers, house collapse etc. The fire service people are also attending the fire protection duties of V.I.Ps & V.V.I.Ps' planes on the requisition of local administrative authorities and in some law and order duties on the written requisition of Police authorities.

          In the year 1999  property worth Rs.4,42,000 was saved from the clutches of fire and innumerable human and cattle lives have been saved from rescue calls. In the current year several fire calls have been attended from which  property  worth Rs.8,25,850/- has been saved.











          We Serve to Save

          Contact over phone No.55501 or 101 and inform the incident clearly and correctly till the sentry on duty confirms.

          In case of fire accidents or if the help of fire service is felt necessary contact the phone no. cited above. The sentry will ask some questions like calling Telephone No., Name of the informer, Name of the place of incident, the route name and the availability of open water source. For any other information contact  AFO/OIC, Keonjhar Fire Station.




. . .